Erinoffduty

Super Christmas Nostalgia and My Books

leave a comment »

I hope you bitches opened your advent calendars yesterday.  Mmmm a wee chocolate at breakfast.

I was going to start December off with a bang with a big Christmas post on December 1st.  I had all sorts of ideas about holiday stuff to serenade you with.  But….uh….I procrastinated and didn’t write anything of note.  I’ll do that another day, but I’ll start off December on the 2nd with at least something on the topic of holidays.

But yes…the plan is to make this December at Erinoffduty filled with Christmas spirit.  For me the season has nothing to do with baby Jesus and everything to do with fug Christmas-themed sweaters, getting drunk with relatives you don’t like very much sober and all the sweet, sweet swag.  In all seriousness though I love the festive spirit everywhere.  Um.  OK, I admit most of the Christmas spirit is in shopping malls where the shopping industrial complex does everything in it’s powers to part you with your sweet, sweet gold by seducing you with nostalgia.  STOP MAKING SENSE.  Shopping in December is pure nostalgia to me SO DON’T TRY TO STEAL MY CHILDHOOD MEMORIES.

I digress.

Every year I always ask for a boatload of books.  When I was in school it was usually any and all of the books for the winter term on the class reading lists.  Praise be to The Flying Spaghetti Monster that I’m graduated and edumacated and can ask for the good shit for Christmas.  The books on my list this year (in no particular order):

Update sometime in January:  A selection of the books I actually got for xmas.  I’ll post reviews at some point when I’m not lazy. Who am I kidding?  I’ll never remember to do this.  I’ll just write my thoughts because I’ll never get around to reviewing.

1.

The Hitch.  Obviously.  I’m about half way through.  The Hitch doesn’t disappoint.  Recommendation level:  high.

2.

This is the follow up book to “The Pillars of the Earth”, only the best book I’ve read this year.  I know, I know everyone else read that book in the early 90s – shut up!  I haven’t started this one yet, but I’m pretty sure it won’t disappoint.

3.

I had to put something on my list that has educational value. Ha.   I heard about this one when Dan Savage interviewed the scholar who wrote it.  I’m about half way through this and it is so full off win.   Recommendation level: high.

4.

According to the quiz in the first book by Christian Lander I’m very high on the hierarchy of white people.  Ha.  This is the follow up book with more about what makes (the right kind of) white people hilarious. Go check out the website for some a good chuckle.  Update:  I read this in, like, a day.  Highlariousness squared.  Also, my whiteness factor appears to only be increasing.

5.

I’m not vegan anymore, but this woman’s recipes are tops.  She started out writing an amazing food blog and eventually got a book deal recently.  Update:  did not disapoint!  So much nomoliciousness.

Xo,

E.

 

 

Written by erinoffduty

December 2, 2010 at 10:30 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

