Erinoffduty

Spring/Summer 2011 Favourites: Dolce and Gabbana

leave a comment »

There were so many pieces I loved in this collection it was hard to whittle it down to a few favorites for you Dear Readers.  I appreciate how this collection is sexy and high fashion, while remaining practical to every day life and wearable when broken down into separates.  It’s a really good mix of sexy and sophisticated.  Some people, like Lady Gaga, appreciate art installations as clothes.  I do in a way too, but what I really want to see is a high fashion concept and impeccable construction that doesn’t need a babelfish translation to take it to the street.

I’m going to try not to annotate every photo with “OMG THAT’S SO FIERCE”.  As you look at the photos though just imagine every one coming with a high-pitched “OMG” from moi.

I’m just going to take a moment to note how excited I am to see Rianne Ten Haken (in white above) on the runway.  Perhaps I’m wrong, but it feels like she went away for a while.  Love her!

I like the idea of a sexy fabric and sexy silhouette that’s covered up.  Hotness.

Russian new money is going to be buying this collection with ferocious speed I suspect.  And I mean that in a good way.

Natasha Poly WINZ.

This suit is amazing.  It’s really difficult to cut a suit for a woman that doesn’t scream “menswear trend” apparently.  This one, however, WINZ.  One day when I’m an executive at a private military contracting firm I’m going to wear suits like this one.  Yeaaaah.

Underwear as outerwear done in a way that could actually be clothes suitable for the street.  With a cardigan over it, or whatever.

OMG SPARKLE.  You can’t see the sparkle in the fabric in the dress and jacket above, but look at the others walking behind her in the same part of the collection.  Holy shit FIERCEEEE.  Ok.  I did it.  I started screaming fashion talk.

Xo,

E.

Written by erinoffduty

September 30, 2010 at 7:58 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

